The lanterns for Morningside Lights are progressing well.

I haven’t posted much this week as I was a little confused by the process as described to me. PAW have a different approach to the one adopted by most lantern builders in the UK. It’s great but I was baffled for a few days.
Lantern frame building here is done with rattan and wire. In the uk it would be withies, rattan and wire and the principles are the same.

However the approach to covering the lanterns for the most part of the week left me baffled. Initially we covered the lanterns in a paper mache glue mix and till receipt roll which is translucent. Then there was much talk of a cheesecloth layer when dry which I had (wrongly) assumed was muslin. This turned out to my great relief to be muslin scrim!

imageThis layer is followed by white tissue and coloured tissue.

In the UK amoungst to my fellow makers we definately have a more minimal approach. Frame making, wet strength tissue paper ( 1 layer)  or similar and then colour tissue or crepe paper. Maybe this comes from our candlelight traditions, we definately wouldn’t have the luxury of the time taken to complete the layering process within the UK arts funding streams.

The storytelling element is as simple as I described in an earlier post and I look forward to seeing it in action.

The workshop is a busy one see a mini film on the Processional Arts Workshop Facebook page  and some stills below

Today is the day for colour on the lanterns…

ArtsCouncil_BritishCouncil_Lockup_Black

