And so the day of the parade came…

after a week of workshops with both the local community and PAW regulars there was a calm before the storm. The workshop was hyper organised but I was struck by a few things.

We processed mostly on the pavement which I am told is normal for New York. The pavements are much wider here, but there is something powerful about taking the street with hand crafted fragile objects powered only by humans.

Even on the procession day it was predominantly an adult affair which is interesting to me. I wonder if there will be differences next week when I work on a more established event.

I have learned lots of new tricks during the week in terms of both production and making. One of my quests in coming here was to research how PAW uses storytelling within its processional work. In this particular project the story was well designed before the workshops and the input from the public was in the crowd sourcing of imagery to decorate the generic puppets.

What is the key to the storytelling being well designed

A strong concept & brief.

A reasonably financed project development phase.

A well developed mailing list of keen makers and volunteer performers.

Good use of a wide range of social media tools.

A good visible workshop area which encourages crowd input.

Also yesterday at the other end of Manhattan, workshops began for Morningside Lights. I move over to that project today and the second phase of my research trip begins.

 

 

 

